Skip to main content


Organogram SKIN Research Group


Prof J. Gutermuth is Department Chair and Principal Investigator. The Skin Immunology & Immune Tolerance Research Group includes two intensively interacting groups; the Clinical Research group and the Translational Research group.

Dr. Inge Kortekaas Krohn (post-doc) coordinates the research projects and laboratory experiments and she is (co-)supervisor of the PhD/Master students. The experiments are carried out by Dr. Inge Kortekaas Krohn, Fariza Badloe (PhD-student) and Master students of Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Martine Grosber is Head of Clinic at the Department of Dermatology and responsible for the coordination of clinical studies. Recruitment of subjects will be done by the members of the Clinical Research group, as well as clinical diagnosis, patient characterization and sampling. Dr. Samira Baharlou is Head of Ageing & Esthetics, including anti-ageing, laser and lift therapy.

Clinical and Translational Research is highly integrated in our department. As part of the training for Dermatologist, the Residents will complete a research project and a peer-reviewed publication within this time frame. Research project can be performed at our department (UZ Brussel/VUB) or in collaboration with our national or international partners.

Department of Dermatology